Best Birthday Ever

Getting set up early in the evening.
Getting set up early in the evening.

Yesterday was my birthday, and it was probably   definitely the best birthday I have ever had in my adult life.  My husband surprised me with a GORGEOUS bouquet of roses. We went to a lovely breakfast together while the kids watched the baby, and then I opened some presents with the kids later that afternoon. Somehow Jon managed to make a checkered cake with 3 colors. It was amazing.

Woah! How did he do that?
Woah! How did he do that?

After the family festivities, it was time to get ready to go. Lenore had the wonderful opportunity to play for a gathering of friends. We bought snacks, wine, and got ready for an exciting night of music. Pictures may take a short time to upload for the slide shows, as there are quite a few of them.

We arrived early with the other musicians for set-up and sound check. Lenore took the time to practice her set and have a little snack while the rest of musicians (she was the only kid) set up the stage. At 7: 30, Lenore got to play first to a full house. I apologize for the quality of the video below: my camera would not record, so my son was quick to whip out his phone and catch the action. Thanks son!

Lenore managed to play through, even though her hair got caught in her strings (just a little). I warned her that she should tie her hair back, but she had just died her ends lavender, and we couldn’t hide that, now could we? Everyone seemed to enjoy it anyway. I know our family loved it.

Playing for the crowd.
Playing for the crowd.

After Lenore was finished, we enjoyed watching the others. It was an unforgettable evening with some of the most incredible musicians and friends. Friends, family, cake, wine, good food and live music…….I really don’t need anything else. I took some additional pictures of the evening but nothing’s labeled. It’s just a collection of shots of the evening. Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

