My Belle Evangeline Turns One Next Week

Evangeline turns one year old next week.
Evangeline turns one year old next week.

We can’t believe it has gone so fast, but our beautiful little Evangeline will turn one year old next week. It’s been a fantastic whirlwind of baby. Some good, some bad, and some hilarious. I wouldn’t change a thing. Sometimes I can’t believe we were given the opportunity to go through this baby phase again.

It hasn't always been smiles and happy portrait moments.
It hasn’t always been smiles and happy portrait moments.

Sure, my husband and I had our doubts that we could do this again. I remember once we had taken Lenore and a little friend to the Bishop Museum. They were 8  at the time, and I was 6 months pregnant and very tired. The girls RAN everywhere. They had so much energy. We had stopped to rest on a bench while the girls looked at an exhibit, and Jon looks over at me and says, “How in the HECK are we going to do this again in 8 years? They run all the time!” 

I just laughed because I felt the same way.

Let me go! I want to run the beach.
Let me go! I want to run the beach.

But here we are now, again, holding onto another little girl who is on the verge of running everywhere, and it’s not so bad. We even enjoy it. Evangeline is a ball of energy…fierce, happy, heart-pumping energy-and we’re glad to be part of the ride.

She loves watching her big sisters.
She loves watching her big sisters,

She has really brought the three older kids together. Sure, they still fight over angsty-teen things. But the one great unifier is Evangeline. They adore her in a way Jon and I never imagined. I can only hope they continue to show her their unconditional love. It’s really….awesome.

She adores her big sisters.
Big Sister holds her hand.

We’ll see what this next year brings. It all has gone so fast, I blinked and here we are. I’m not sad, well maybe just a little …..but that’s only because I’m selfish and want a sweet little one who needs me forever. I know those days are numbered.

My Belle Evangeline, thank you for making us so happy.
My Belle Evangeline, thank you for making us so happy.

So as this first year comes to an end, I can honestly say we can’t wait to head into the next year with this little sweetie. Happy Birthday Evangeline! We love you.

Leave a Reply

