Someone Else Did It Better

These tiny shells are called Ni'ihau Shells. They are precious, and my favorite part of the necklace.
These tiny shells are called Ni’ihau Shells. They are precious, and my favorite part of the necklace.

Oh my, did I take on more than I could handle or what? This isn’t a rhetorical question. I completely got in over my head with this one.

Originally, I wanted to make Evangeline a special shell necklace for her first birthday. I had visions of grandeur in my head of me…meticulously and lovingly drilling holes in each shell and then every-so-skillfully weaving it into this lovely herring-bone pattern.

Screw that.

Drilling tiny shells with a roughed up sewing pin is hard. For me, it was down right impossible. You break enough of these little ones,  and you start to have a revelation after you cry about the $ down the drain. Why not pay someone who actually knows what they’re doing?

So I did just that, and I couldn’t be more pleased with her work.

Now all that remains for me to wire-wrap the shell, and add some leather cord to the ends of the baby shells. I have no idea how to wire-wrap a shell, but the nice woman at the bead-supply store talked me through it when I bought the wire. By the end of the week, I should have something nice for Evangeline to cherish when she’s older. Much older. Right now she couldn’t care less.

I’m not sure if we can still say “I made this”, if someone else did all the difficult work, but I don’t care.

It’s going to be a lovely necklace, and I’m still taking partial credit. (But someone else did a better job on he hard stuff than I ever could have.)

Leave a Reply

