Animals Are So Boring

My husband and I took Evangeline to the zoo yesterday. I wish I could say she was enthralled with the experience, and I captured the sweet look of wonder and amazement on her little face as she “Ooooed and Aaaahhed” at the animals. I would like to say that, but I can’t. She was more interested in her feet.

These toe-things are more fun than the giraffe.
These toe-things are more fun than the giraffe.

…..And eating her feet.

Mmmmm, toes.
Mmmmm, toes.

The monkeys were amusing, but not enough for her to crack a smile. She watched with a look of boredom as the monkeys swung from the ropes and did cute monkey stuff.

DSC00757
So that’s a monkey…yawn.

I think I put too much emphasis on “the first visit”. I had this image in my head about how the day would go, and well…my kid doesn’t care about my image. In the end, she was happy just to have Daddy carry her around all day.

I just want Daddy. (You have great taste, kiddo.)
They are totally making me sit here. Not cool.
They are totally making me sit here. Not cool.

Lenore took a friend, and they ran around like kid’s should. It was exhausting to watch. She took about 2 minutes to sit, (because we made her do it) and then dashed off with her buddy to the next exhibit. She lives for the zoo. I should have taken more pictures of her reactions to the animals- that would have been more exciting. 🙂

Fine. I'll sit here, but I won't like it.
Fine. I’ll sit here, but I won’t like it.

I did manage to put the camera away, and enjoy the day with my family. Jon was getting annoyed and giving me the “knock-it-off-already” look. So yeah…I needed him to remind me of what was important. But before I go, I just want to share one more shot.  She really did like watching the hippos be gross. Who doesn’t?

Hippos are disgusting! I love them.
Hippos are disgusting! I love them.
Leave a Reply

